Davido And Burna Boy Lead Trace Awards Nominations

The Trace Awards nominees are led by Davido and Burna Boy.

Leading the pack of nominees are three of Nigeria’s most prominent and talented artists: Davido, Burna Boy, and Tiwa Savage. These exceptional musicians have garnered recognition across multiple categories, including “Best Male,” “Song of the Year,” “Best Live,” “Best Collaboration,” “Best Artist,” and “Album of the Year.” Their impressive presence in the nomination list reflects their remarkable achievements and contributions to the music scene.

In addition to these superstars, an array of other exceptional talents from various creative fields have also secured nominations. The nominee list spans categories such as music producers, DJs, writers, composers, directors, and record labels. This inclusive approach ensures that excellence across the entire spectrum of the music industry is celebrated and recognized.

With four nominations each, Davido and Burna Boy lead the nominee pack, capturing attention with their exceptional talent and widespread appeal. Not far behind, artists such as Asake, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, Ayra Starr, Yemi Alade, and Fireboy DML have each received three nominations. Rema and Kizz Daniel have secured two nominations each, further cementing their undeniable talent and impact on the music scene.

The nominee list also features a host of other notable Nigerian artists, including Odumodublvck, Oxlade, The Compozers, Moses Bliss, DJ Spinall, Olamide, BNXN, Show Dem Camp, and Nissi. This diverse group showcases the immense pool of talent bubbling within the Nigerian music industry.

Olivier Laouchez, the chairman and co-founder of Trace, lauds African artists for their extraordinary creativity and dynamism, describing them as a significant cultural force deserving of global recognition and celebration. The Trace Awards nominations serve as a testament to the outstanding achievements and excellence they have displayed. Laouchez extends his congratulations to all the nominees, emphasizing that the event, set to take place on October 21, 2023, in Kigali, Rwanda, will be an unmissable experience for lovers of African and Afro-inspired music.

As the anticipation builds for the inaugural Trace Awards ceremony, music enthusiasts eagerly await the announcement of winners in each category. The event promises to be a captivating celebration of African talent and creativity, uniting artists from diverse backgrounds and showcasing the immense contributions they have made to the global music scene.

The release of the nominees for the 2023 Trace Awards marks a significant milestone for the music industry, heralding a new era of recognition and celebration of African talent. The list of nominees highlights the exceptional achievements of Nigerian artists and showcases the diversity and richness of the music landscape. As the Trace Awards ceremony draws closer, the excitement will continue to build, and fans can look forward to witnessing a spectacular event that honors the ingenuity and excellence of African musicians.

See the full nomination list below:

Best Male

  1. Asake (Nigeria)
  2. Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  3. Davido (Nigeria)
  4. Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
  5. Didi B (Ivory Coast)
  6. K.O (South Africa)
  7. Rema (Nigeria)

    Best Female

  8. Ayra Starr (Nigeria)
  9. Josey (Ivory Coast)
  10. Nadia Mukami (Kenya)
  11. Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)
  12. Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)
  13. Viviane Chidid (Senegal)


Song of the Year

  1. “BKBN” – Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)
  2. “People” – Libianca (Cameroon)
  3. “Suavemente” – Soolking (France)
  4. “Encre” – Emma’a (Gabon)
  5. “Sugarcane” – Camidoh (Ghana)
  6. “Last Last” – Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  7. “Rush” – Ayra Starr (Nigeria)
  8. “Calm Down” – Rema (Nigeria)
  9. “Peru” – Fireboy DML (Nigeria) with Ed Sheeran (UK)
  10. “Sete” – K.O (South Africa)
  11. “Cough” – Kizz Daniel (Nigeria)
  12. “MORTEL 06” – Innoss’B (Ivory Coast)


Best Music Video

  1. “2 Sugar” – Wizkid (Nigeria) feat. Ayra Starr (Nigeria)
  2. “Baddie” – Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
  3. “Kpaflotage” – Suspect 95 (Ivory Coast)
  4. “Loaded” – Tiwa Savage(Nigeria) & Asake (Nigeria)
  5. “Ronda” – Blxckie (South Africa)
  6. “Tombolo” – Kalash (Martinique)
  7. Yatapita” – Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)


 Best Newcomer

  1. Azawi (Uganda)
  2. Krys M (Cameroon)
  3. Libianca (Cameroon)
  4. Nissi (Nigeria)
  5. Odumodublvck (Nigeria)
  6. Pabi Cooper (South Africa)
  7. Roseline Layo (Ivory Coast)


Best Collaboration

  1. “Many Ways” – BNXN (Nigeria) with Wizkid (Nigeria)
  2. “Mine” – Show Dem Camp (Nigeria) with Oxlade (Nigeria)
  3. “Peru” – Fireboy DML (Nigeria) with Ed Sheeran (UK)
  4. “Second Sermon” – Black Sherif (Ghana) with Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  5. “Sete” – K.O (South Africa) with Young Stunna (South Africa), Blxckie (South Africa)
  6. “Stamina” – Tiwa Savage with Ayra Starr (Nigeria) & Young Jonn (Nigeria)
  7. “Trumpet” – Olamide (Nigeria) with Ckay (Nigeria)
  8. “Unavailable” – Davido (Nigeria) with Musa Keys (South Africa)


Best DJ

  1. Danni Gato (Cape Verde)
  2. DJ BDK (Ivory Coast)
  3. DJ Illans (France)
  4. DJ Spinall (Nigeria)
  5. Michael Brun (Haiti)
  6. Uncle Waffles (Swaziland)


Best Producer

  1. DJ Maphorisa (South Africa)
  2. Juls (Ghana)
  3. Kabza de Small (South Africa)
  4. Kel-P (Nigeria)
  5. Tamsir (Ivory Coast)


Best Gospel Artist

  1. Benjamin Dube (South Africa)
  2. Janet Otieno (Kenya)
  3. KS Bloom (Ivory Coast)
  4. Levixone (Uganda)
  5. Moses Bliss (Nigeria)


Best Live

  1. Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  2. Fally Ipupa (DRC)
  3. Musa Keys (South Africa)
  4. The Compozers (Nigeria)
  5. Wizkid (Nigeria)
  6. Yemi Alade (Nigeria)


Best Dancer

  1. Robot Boii (South Africa)
  2. Tayc (France)
  3. Uganda Ghetto Kids (Uganda)
  4. Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
  5. Zuchu (Tanzania)


Best Artist Africa – Anglohone

  1. Asake (Nigeria)
  2. Ayra Starr (Nigeria)
  3. Black Sherif (Ghana)
  4. Davido (Nigeria)
  5. Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
  6. Fireboy DML (Nigeria)


Best Artist Africa – Francophone

  1. Didi B (Ivory Coast)
  2. Emma’a (Gabon)
  3. Fally Ipupa (DRC)
  4. KO-C (Cameroon)
  5. Locko (Cameroon)
  6. Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast)
  7. Viviane Chidid (Senegal)


Best Artist Africa – Lusophone

  1. Gerilson Insrael (Angola)
  2. Lisandro Cuxi (Cape Verde)
  3. Perola (Angola)
  4. Plutonio (Mozambique)
  5. Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)


Best Artist – Rwanda

  1. Ariel Wayz (Rwanda)
  2. Bruce Melodie (Rwanda)
  3. Bwiza (Rwanda)
  4. Chriss Eazy (Rwanda)
  5. Kenny Sol (Rwanda)


Best Artist – France & Belgium

  1. Aya Nakamura (France)
  2. Booba (France)
  3. Nihno (France)
  4. Ronisia (France)
  5. Soolking (France)
  6. Tayc (France)


Best Artist – UK

  1. Central Cee (UK)
  2. Headie One (UK)
  3. Ms Banks (UK)
  4. Raye (UK)
  5. Stormzy (UK)


Best Artist – The Caribbean

  1. Admiral T (Guadeloupe)
  2. Bamby (French Guiana)
  3. Kalash (Martinique)
  4. Maureen (Martinique)
  5. Popcaan (Jamaica)
  6. Princess Lover (Martinique)
  7. Rutshelle Guillaume (Haiti)
  8. Shenseea (Jamaica)


Best Artist – Indian Ocean

  1. Donovan BTS (Mauritius)
  2. GaEi (Madagascar)
  3. Goulam (Comoros)
  4. Mikl (Reunion)
  5. Sega el (Reunion)
  6. Terell Elymoor (Mayotte)


Best Artist – Brazil

  1. Djonga (Brazil)
  2. Iza (Brazil)
  3. Leo Santana (Brazil)
  4. Ludmilla (Brazil)
  5. Luedji Luna (Brazil)


Best Artist – North Africa

  1. Amira Zouhair (Morocco)
  2. Artmasta (Tunisia)
  3. Dystinct (Morocco)
  4. El Grande Toto (Morocco)
  5. Kader Japonais (Algeria)
  6. Raja Meziane (Algeria)


Album of the Year

  1. “DNK”- Aya Nakamura (France)
  2. “Love Damini” – Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  3. “Maverick” – Kizz Daniel (Nigeria)
  4. “More Love, Less Ego” – Wizkid (Nigeria)
  5. “Timeless” – Davido (Nigeria)
  6. “Work of Art” – Asake (Nigeria)

Written by Ani